Being afraid isn’t the answer

When people ask me what it’s like to go through the days when having anxiety, the only way that I can explain it is that you just feel afraid all the time. You feel like the world is out to get you and your body and mind are prepared for the worst. All kind of thoughts come to your mind, you start to sweat and shake, you start to gasp for air, everything starts to spin. That’s an anxiety attack.

The other day I went for a job interview and I was terrified. I thought my heart was going to come out of my chest. All in all, it went well but afterwards my world felt so dark and miserable. But when I got home I lied down in bed to relax and started thinking and I remember what somebody that I worked with said to me. He said ‘the only way to get over your anxiety and your fear is to do the thing that scares you the most. Constantly put yourself in situations that sets of your anxiety so in the end you and your body will know that there is nothing to be afraid of’. After thinking that I thought I need to set myself a challenge. I challenge myself to do things that scare me!

#1 Go to my trial shift tomorrow

#2 Eat in a café my myself

#3 Ask to do work experience

#4 Smile at a stranger

#5 Ask for help at a store

#6 Go out during the day without make up

#7 Accept that you were wrong and apologise

#8 Tell the truth

#9 Show off my work

#10 Don’t be afraid to spend more time on self-care!

You should make a list too!

Stay amazing!

Rosie 🙂

Leave a Reply

